Dark Chocolate Chip Brownies

 

Sometimes you just need brownies.  Well, sometimes I need brownies.  Today I needed brownies.  I wanted something warm, gooey, fudgey, and over-the-top chocolatey.  So after a quick perusing of the interwebs, I found this recipe claiming to be the best brownies ever.  I had all the ingredients on hand (miraculously), and after a few minor tweaks to meet my personal craving, I give you Dark Chocolate Chip Brownies.   These brownies did the job and they did it well.

They are so very delightfully rich and moist and fudgey and everything you want in a brownie.  I love chocolate chips in brownies because, number 1, it’s like an extra shot of chocolate (which is never bad), and, number 2, it lends for a nice texture contrast.  You can leave them out, but you really are missing out.

What’s even better about these brownies?  This recipe makes a baby batch, so it has to be healthier than that pint of Ben & Jerry’s I was going to eat…

Dark Chocolate Chip Brownies

1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup flour
1/3 cup unsweetened dark chocolate cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Special Dark)
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9 x 9 inch baking pan.  In a medium bowl, mix together oil, sugar and vanilla.  Beat in eggs.  In a separate bowl, mix together flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt.  Gradually mix the dry mixture into the wet mixture.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Pour into prepared pan and spread evenly.  Bake 20 – 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.  Allow to cool on a wire rack before cutting into squares and serving.

Leave a Reply

