Peanut Butter Banana Oat Dog Treats

My dogs love peanut butter, so most of the treats I make involve peanut butter.  Obviously, this is not an exception.  These smell so amazing, I almost want to eat them myself.  Except I won’t… because they’re for the dogs.

This is my awesome treat barometer:

If I turn around and see this, I know I’ve done well.

 

Peanut Butter Banana Oat Dog Treats

2 ripe bananas, pureed
3/4 cup peanut butter
1 egg
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup old fashioned rolled oats
2 3/4 cup whole wheat flour (do not substitute white flour, white flour is bad for dogs)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a large mixing bowl, combine banana puree, peanut butter, oil and egg.  Add cinnamon and oats.  Slowly add flour, incorporating a little at a time until all ingredients are mixed.  Roll into small balls (about 1 inch in diameter) and place on an ungreased cookie sheet.  The cookies do not spread, so you can put them close together.  Press each ball down with your hand to flatten the cookies.  Bake 22-25 minutes or until bottoms are golden brown and cookies are hard to the touch.  Let cool completely on a wire rack.  Store at room temperature in a loosely covered container.  They also freeze very well.

Leave a Reply

